Take…Take Me Back to My Childhood


Take me back to my childhood

Where am the center of the world

Where everyone minds my business

Where am the mos beautiful baby boy

Others will just call bouncing baby boy

Where the term Bouncing meant walking in a certain style

Take me back to my Childhood

Where I would run to meet my dad and hug him without restrain

I would be short of time to tell him all the stories about what happened when he was away

When I would ask him all the question my little fist size head would think off

When dad would be my chief engineer my bro his assistant

When they would come up with real toys made of steel

We never used to buy toys

I had a fleet of lories

The most famous was famous were two christened ‘YY’ and ‘Kifagio’

Take Take me to my childhood

Where I was the greatest engineer after my dad and bro

When I would come with models of buses

Real buses in the line of Coast Bus, Mbukinya, Kerenga, Calypso liner and later on Benways

Yes Benways, that was the most fastest bus I have ever known

The one that will depart from Nairobi at  8 in the morning and at lunch time imedonjo Kisumu

Blaring the trumpet horns to the cheers of school children going for lunch

Take me to my childhood when the only manyanga minibus was Tena ni Tena Success

It used to ply the Nairobi-Machokos and larger Ukambani land

That minibus that would carry the whole household including matresses and kitimoto home for christmass

And still be tasked to carry the same back to Nairobi after Christmas!

Take me back to my childhood in the village

Where all freedom existed

Where children are left to grow and develop

Not to be baby sitted by stationary idiot boxes in the name of TV and computer

Take me to the village where boys gangs existed though underground

Where all football matches against the neighboring village had to end the Gor Mahia way

Where the boys would tell you the toughest cow or bull

The cattle fights were held every weekend at the swamp

Where no one dared report to our parents for fear of being sidelined by the boys

Take me back to my childhood when all kids I can swear were professional thieves

When we were guardians of the neighbors’ fruits when they were around

And thieves when they are out of sight

When we would have qualified to be one bullet snipers

One rock was enough to drop a bunch of mangoes 100 meters away

The frits would still land silently as if afraid of being heard by the owner

Take me back to my childhood where every child was a straight faced lier

I wonder why we are amazed at the current politico-liers

Childhood is the greatest age to lie

We could even lie you have put on clean cloths

When the ones on you are all plastered with either mud or dust

Take, take me back to my childhood where my mum is the greatest mum in the universe

She is also the most no nonesense disciplinarian

She punishes you when you even least expect it

And overlooks when you are expectant and prepared to be reprimanded

Take me back to my childhood

When I ate until the food was no more or got tired

Or simply both happened

When I would after such a noble task wake my mum in the middle of the night

I will whisper between sobs that I need to go for a soft call

She would light the koroboi and show me to do it at the door

It was not necessary to go out, a child’s urine is less

In the process so I would even pass a hard copy

I would not tell mama about this bonus release

The trouble comes in the morning when my bro happens to pass that way

He steps on the floor stool and Hooraa!!

The hell hell breaks loose on me

My mum’s palms hardened by daily toils lands on my hinds like lightening

She slaps out all the mediocrity in me

Take me back to my childhood

When all crawling and flying insects were edible

When all birds were eatable including taboo ones

Take me back to my childhood when we were great hunters

We even were hired for hunting down squirrels

One day we hunted down a horn-bill

Caught it, roasted and ate it

It is a taboo bird to eat in my backyard

Take me back to my childhood

When we would scare away squirrels away from the maize farm during school holidays

When we would sing songs to mock the lazy anakamuna

Anakamuna who wants to reap where he did not sow

 

One response to “Take…Take Me Back to My Childhood

  1. I’ve been browsing on-line greater than three hours lately, yet I by no
    means found any fascinating article like yours. It’s lovely worth sufficient
    for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made excellent content as you probably
    did, the internet will be much more helpful than ever before.

    Like

Revealing The Best!

